Please Excuse Me While I Re-Blog Everything from PaleOMG

20140121_195349So, first let me say that I am IN LOVE with Juli Bauer”s blog, PaleOMG. Like, really really in love.  I do not follow a paleo diet (also known as the “caveman diet,” click here for more info on it). However, I do agree with one of the main underlying principles of the paleo diet, and that is to avoid processed foods. It’s simple, processed foods are shitty for you.

So, the PaleOMG blog features a ton of very creative, and incredibly delicious recipes. Did I mention desserts? Ohh, the desserts. One of my favorite recipes (that I have made so far), is her Protein Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding. I give it 6/5 stars. I like to make a batch of it in the evening then have it for breakfast the next couple days. FAN-FUCKING-TASTIC. Pumpkin has a ton of fiber and vitamin A, and chia seeds have even more fiber. Who said pudding isn’t for breakfast? This is definitely healthy-breakfast worthy. Juli’s recipe can be found below, along with a few of my own comments and additions, in bold. Cheers, bitches!


Protein Pumpkin Pie Chia Pudding

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients USE THIS SHIT

  • 1.5 cups almond milk (my favorite is Almond Breeze unsweetened almond/coconut milk)
  • ½ cup pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie mix, make sure you buy 100% canned pumpkin)
  • 1 scoop Formulx Vanilla Recovery Protein (30 grams)* (I like GNC’s Total Lean 25 in French Vanilla. However, I’ve never tried Juli’s suggested protein powder, so I’ll have to check it out.) 
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter (or other nut or seed butter) (I had actually never tried almond butter until I made this recipe for the first time. But, DAMN. Definitely try it if you have not.) 
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey (I was all out of raw honey, so I omitted it.)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
  • pinch of salt
  • ¼ cup chia seeds
  • extra almond milk for topping
  • I also added about 1/4 cup of sliced raw almonds and 1/4 cup of sweetened shredded coconut. The sweetness in the coconut made up for my lack of honey
 Instructions DO THIS, BITCHES!
  1. Blend all ingredients, except chia seeds, until smooth. Do not take the lid off the blender while it is on, and do not stick your fingers in the blender to test how sharp the blades are. They are sharp enough.
  2. Place the blended mixture into a resealable large jar (or 2 smaller jars) then add chia seeds. Seal jar and shake. Shake it, shake, shake it. Shake it, shake, shake it. Shake it like a Polaroid Pictureee!
  3. Place in refrigerator overnight or for at least 3+ hours. I shook my jars once in between to make sure they didn’t become too gelatinous. I forgot to shake mine, but I stirred the pudding before I ate it and everything was A’okay.
  4. Pour some extra almond milk on top and eat up. Breakfast, snack or post workout recovery is served!
Notes
*Protein powder is optional. Recipe still works without it.
Here is the link the PaleOMG again. Definitely check out all her recipes and posts!
One comment

Leave a Reply

