Best Damn Nutrition Facts Site

I came across the Self Nutrition Data site inadvertently a while ago when I was likely googling “nutrition facts (for whatever unhealthy snack I just gorged in our office kitchen).” The site features thousands of food entries for raw ingredients, canned foods, frozen foods, and even restaurant and fast food choices. Each page has the most in depth nutrition information and food data that I have ever found readily available on the web. I have never cross checked any of the entries, but I don’t doubt their overall accuracy.

Below is an example of food summary which appears at the top of each entry, I randomly selected raw avocados, because they are really delicious. My favorite feature, by far, is the “Nutritional Target Map” which weighs a food item’s “fullness factor” vs. how nutritious it is. DAMN GENIUS! I have basically made it my cooking goal to make a mental note of every food I search that appears in the filling and nutritious quadrant of this chart. I was seriously impressed when I came across this feature on their site.

In addition to their impressive Nutritional Target Map, each entry has a nutrition information section that is broken down into calorie information, carbohydrates, fats & fatty acids, protein & amino acids, vitamins, minerals, sterols, and other. Did I mention how amazing this site is yet? Just to reiterate what I have already said, this site is definitely the best organized and most complete nutrition information database I’ve ever found. And no, they are not paying me to post this. I am just really impressed by the site and use it a shit ton. Definitely check it out. Read up, bitches!

Self Nutrition Data

Self Nutrition Data entry for 1 raw avocado

Here is the link to the site again: http://nutritiondata.self.com/

Leave a Reply

