nom nom paleo Mini Frittata Muffins

Paleo Mini Frittata Muffins

Paleo Mini Frittata Muffins

Sorry, more muffins. I really really like muffins. Like, a lot. I’ve mentioned I’m always rushing around in the morning because I’d much rather sleep in than have a calm, relaxing morning. I like the challenge of sleeping in as late as possible, then trying to get ready as fast as I can and still make it to my 9 am meetings at work. Rarely am I late. I take pride in my routine. So, muffins.  They are great for a quick breakfast while you’re running out the door like me, or for a snack anytime. I found this recipe on nom nom paleo which is another one of my favorite cooking sites. These Cheesy ‘N Beefy Mini Frittata Muffins are not carby sugary muffins,  which makes them an even better breakfast since you will feel full longer from the protein.

This recipe is also great because they definitely fit in the stipulations of the Keto diet, for more info, click here. The keto diet is essentially high fat, moderate protein, low carb diet. After depriving your body of carbs, you will eventually go into “ketosis” where your body burns fat instead instead of glucose (carbs). The diet is also typically considered a variation of the Atkins diet. Consequently, as you can probably gather from the fact that the recipe is from a site called nom nom paleo, it also fits into the paleo diet. (Click here for more info on the paleo diet.) Dairy products are not usually part of the paleo diet, however, if you are a strict follower of the diet you can probably make these without the Greek yogurt and cheese.

Check out my comments in BOLD. Muffins for life!


CHEESY ‘N BEEFY MINI FRITTATA MUFFINS

Here’s what I assembled to make 12 muffins:

1 pound of grass fed ground beef
1 small onion, minced
1 tablespoon of Arizona Dreaming seasoning (I didn’t have this so I just used some paprika, a little bit of chili powder, and garlic.)
1 tablespoon of ghee (I didn’t have any ghee either, so I just used coconut oil instead.)
Kosher salt
Pepper
Coconut oil spray (Okay, so I really only had half of the ingredients listed here… since I didn’t have any coconut oil spray, I just melted about two tablespoons of coconut oil in the microwave then brushed it on the inside of the muffin liners.)
6 large eggs
Heaping tablespoon of full fat Greek yogurt
1/2 cup of shredded Mexican blend cheese
I also added about two tablespoons of coconut flour so that the muffins did not get too soggy

Here’s how I made them:

I preheated the oven to 350 F and melted the ghee in a cast iron skillet over medium heat. When the pan was hot, I threw in the onions and sautéed them until they were translucent and soft.

Next, I dumped in the ground beef and used my wooden spoon to break it up in the pan. I seasoned everything with salt and pepper. When the beef was no longer pink, I added the Arizona Dreaming seasoning and stirred everything to make sure it was dispersed evenly.

I removed the seasoned beef from the skillet and let it cool to room temperature. (I am impatient, so I didn’t let the beef cool all the way… they turned out just fine.)

You’ll have way more filling than is necessary for 12 muffins but now you’ll have extra cooked protein. Score!

While your meat is cooling down, line your muffin tins with cupcake liners and spray with coconut oil spray. I like to place my muffin tins on my open dishwasher door when I spray them because then you don’t get grease all over your counter AND it gets cleaned off when you run the dishwasher. (Another great tip from Cook’s Illustrated).

I filled the muffin tins more than halfway full with the cooled beef filling. Then, I whisked the eggs and yogurt with some salt and pepper. I ladled the egg mixture into each muffin, filling them up ¾ of the way to the top. At the end, I topped each muffin with about a tablespoon of shredded cheese. (I actually just mixed the cheese in with the egg mixture, and I also added about two tablespoons of coconut flour so that the muffins did not get too soggy.)

I placed the muffin tins into the oven and let them bake for 15 minutes. Then, I flipped the trays around and baked for 8-10 more minutes. My muffins turned out absolutely incredible. They are delicious. I think next time I make them I might just mix the ground beef in the with egg mixture instead of putting it in first. When I took my muffins out of the papers some of the ground beef crumbled off the bottom. If it’s mixed in the eggs will probably hold it in place. I will update once I try this recipe again, maybe with bacon. I’m thinking lots of bacon. MMM

For the original recipe from nom nom paleo, click here!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

