Stupid Simple: Baked Apple Crisp

Paleo Baked Apple Crisp

Paleo Baked Apple Crisp

Finally, a post that doesn’t involve a muffin pan!

I am kind of infatuated with the idea of the Paleo diet. I don’t completely follow it, but I am definitely trying to make changes in my diet and food choices. I came across this Paleo Baked Apple Crumble recipe from The Ginger Juicer, and obviously I had to make it immediately. The recipe is stupid simple, so even you dumbasses out there can follow along without setting off the smoke alarm in your kitchen. As usual, my notes are in BOLD. I made a few omissions and additions to the recipe. I can’t wait to eat it for breakfast tomorrow morning!


PALEO BAKED APPLE CRUMBLE

Ingredients:

3 Apples (of choice, I used Granny Smith) (I also used granny smith, they are my favorite variety because they have the least amount of sugar opposed to other kinds of apples)
1/4 Cup Honey (I omitted the honey because I used sweetened shredded coconut)
2 TBSP Coconut Flour
1/4 C Coconut Oil
2 TBSP Shredded Coconut (I didn’t measure my coconut, I probably ended up using a bit more =) yummy)
Handful of Walnuts (I no likey walnuts very much, so I opted for sliced raw almonds instead. I probably used 2 or 3 tablespoons)
Cinnamon (LOTS AND LOTS OF CINNAMON)
MORE ADDITIONS:
1 and 1/2 tablespoons of chia seeds
1 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/4 cup dry quick oats

Paleo Baked Apple Crisp Ingredients

Paleo Baked Apple Crisp Ingredients

Instructions:

FOLLOW ALONG, BITCHES
Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Grease a pyrex dish using 1-2 TBSP of melted Coconut Oil
Slice the apples
In a separate bowl mix Coconut Flour,Coconut Oil, Walnuts, Cinnamon, and Honey.
Once mixed, layer the Pyrex dish: Apples, Coconut/Walnut mixture, Apples, Coconut/Walnut Mixture until you end on the Coconut/Walnut mixture
Top it off with Shredded Coconut and bake for 45 minutes.
The coconut and walnuts should be a GOLDEN brown!
** Serve with Paleo Coconut Ice Cream **

Once again, the original recipe can be found, here!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

