Dark Chocolate Black Bean Brownies

Dark Chocolate Black Bean Brownies

Dark Chocolate Black Bean Brownies

Today I had an incessant craving for chocolate, one that my morning Beverly International UMP chocolate protein shake couldn’t even kick. I soon remembered this amazing brownie recipe my sister recently sent me. Get this, made from black beans! It kind of sounds gross, but my sister had made them before and said they turned out amazing. So, I whipped up a batch and was pleasantly surprised how un-black-beany they taste and how incredibly moist they are. Definitely making this recipe again! Per usual, my comments and adaptations are in BOLD.


DARK CHOCOLATE BLACK BEAN BROWNIES

INGREDIENTS:

1 15.5 oz. can black beans, thoroughly rinsed and drained
1/2 teaspoon aluminum free baking powder (I never knew there was a difference between normal baking powder and aluminum free… I used regular baking powder)
1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon unrefined sugar
1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
3 eggs
3 tablespoons olive oil (I actually *gasp!* didn’t have any olive oil, so I used coconut oil instead. I LOVE COCONUT OIL. I might’ve used it anyway even if I did have olive oil on hand)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules (I omitted this, just because. I wasn’t feelin’ it, ya know?)
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped, optional (NO. I don’t like walnuts -> omitted)
1/3 cup dark chocolate chips, more if you like (Confession, I didn’t measure mine… mmmm extra chocolate)

Nielsen Massey Vanilla from William Sonoma

Here are some amazing vanillas from William Sonoma that my boyfran got me for Christmas. He’s nice, I like him. Today I was feeling Tahitian!

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place parchment paper in the bottom of an 8×8″ baking pan. Grease the parchment paper. This will be your security blanket to make sure the brownies don’t stick to the pan!!

Place all the ingredients except chocolate chips and walnuts in a food processor or blender and pulse thoroughly until smooth and well combined. (My kitchen level: ghetto, not gourmet, because I don’t have a food processor… However, I do have a blender. I decided to blend all the wet ingredients together in my blender, then pour that mixture out and add the dry ingredients. I was afraid it wouldn’t blend all the way if it was too dry. This worked just fine.)

Pour batter in the baking dish. Top with nuts and chocolate chips. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until the top is dry and edges begin to pull away from the baking dish. Cool completely before cutting.

The original recipe can be found, here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

