Happy National Nutrition Month!

National Nutrition Month

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

The month of March is National Nutrition Month! National Nutrition month is a campaign sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. And, in my opinion, it couldn’t come at a better time! I think that all the lazy New Years resolution go getters have probably just about forgotten their goals and aspirations… So what a better way to kick their asses back into gear. Seriously America, if you could get your shit together and stop being obese, that’d be great.

If I were an omnipotent genie, and I was struck upon this earth with the one goal of improving the diet of Americans, I would do one thing. Makes sure that everyone eats less processed food!!! I have always been an advocate of avoiding processed food. My routine at the grocery store is the generally “shop the outside,” meaning to go along the outside perimeter of the store while trying to avoid the aisles. Think about which foods are around the perimeter. Generally, fresh produce, meat, eggs, and dairy. These are the non processed ingredients that you should use to make your own food. The aisles are chock full of processed cereal, snack food, cookies, you get the idea. Obviously this isn’t a hard and fast rule. In my grocery store I still usually get about 1/3 of my groceries from down the aisles, but I am definitely cognizant of what I am buying.

Confession: I am a serial label reader. I can’t go to the grocery store when it’s busy because I am that asshole you hate that stands infront of one section for 10 minutes reading the label on every single brand of one thing. I’m sorry. I try to go to the store late at night or Sunday evenings when it’s the least busy. It’s somewhat embarrassing that I spend so long at the store but I feel an unnerving need to read every single ingredient list. In general, if I am trying to choose between two brands, I will try to choose the alternative that contains fewer overall ingredients. That’s it. Notice I said IN GENERAL. This definitely is not always the case, but I feel like I am making reasonable food decisions by putting less things that I don’t know what they are in my body.

Sorry this turned into a rant, more on this topic later. Be healthy, bitches!

For my TL;DR version of this blog post, don’t eat processed food.

Leave a Reply

