The Never-Ending Search for a Perfect Protein Supplement May Have Ended

Beverly International UMP

Beverly International UMP

I have been looking far and wide for a protein supplement that I’ve actually wanted to stick with for as long as I can remember. And I think I might just have found it! I recently learned that a friend of mine was getting into form and physique competitions so, I’ve started to pick her brain about her workouts, when and what she eats, and her favorite protein supplement. She suggested that I check out the brand Beverly International.

In the past, I’ve stuck with easily accesible protein powders and shakes that you can buy at Target or your local grocery store, like the brand EAS. I’ve also tried the GNC Lean Shake brand. The Lean Shake 25 has been my typical go to shake. I like that it is oat based so that it has a substantial amount of fiber and lots of added vitamins and minerals. This makes it a decent meal replacement shake, in addition to a post-workout protein supplement. I don’t know much about the quality of the protein in the Lean Shake 25 line, but the flavors are pretty good, and it’s relatively inexpensive.

So, moving on to Beverly International. I ended up ordering their UMP (Ultimate Muscle Protein) in chocolate, rocky road and vanilla. First of all, that shit is delicious. The flavors are absolutely amazing, it doesn’t have a weird chalky aftertaste at all. The texture is really great too, it mixed really smoothly in a shaker cup with a little bit of almond/coconut milk. I’m sold. I can’t wait to order more flavors of this.

Beverly International lists several differences of their protein powders as opposed to other brands. I’ve summarized these below.

  • Anabolic leverage: UMP has a high MPI (milk protein isolate) percentage which facilitates muscle protein synthesis
  • 80/20: UMP contains 80% slow-release micellar casein and 20% fast-release whey protein
  • “Critical cluster” amino acids: UMP’s amino acids help post-workout muscle recovery
  • “Clinical dose”: according to Beverly International, “Clinical studies have demonstrated increases in total body mass, fat-free (includes muscle) mass, strength and myofibrillar protein when subjects consumed 20 g of protein before and again after training (i.e. 40 g total). These studies used proteins containing far less MPI than Beverly’s UMP. UMP contains 20 g of protein per serving, 90% (18 g) of which is “high leverage” MPI.”
  • The “anytime” protein: the nutritional makeup of the ingredients make it suitable anytime, not just post-workout
  • “Addictively appetizing”: like I mentioned above, the flavor is AMAZING
  • “Perfect consistency”: Also, as I mentioned above, the consistency pretty much perfect

Visit the Beverly International site for more info or to order their products.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

