Chicken Coconut Milk Ginger Soup

Chicken Coconut Milk Soup

Tom Kha Gai!

I decided to proclaim this week Asian week on my blog. I can confidently say that Asian food is one of my favorite kinds of ethnic food. I understand that Asia is a pretty large country, but the Americanized versions Asian dishes found in our restaurants are pretty delicious. I have tried different variations of chicken and coconut milk soup before so I decided to give this Tom Kha Gai (Chicken Coconut Soup) recipe a try! I was lacking some of the ingredients (per usual) so my variations and comments are in BOLD!


 

TOM KHA GAI

YOOZE DIS SHIZ

1 1” piece ginger, peeled (Sooo, yeah. No fresh ginger here. I used about 1 tablespoon of ground ginger instead)
10 kaffir lime leaves or 1 Tbsp. lime zest and ¼ cup lime juice(I went with the zest and joose)
6 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used only about 3 cups of broth, I pretty much cut this recipe in half… should’ve mentioned that…)
1½ lb. skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 1” pieces
8 oz. shiitake, oyster, or maitake mushrooms, stemmed, caps cut into bite-size pieces
1 13.5-oz. can coconut milk
2 Tbsp. fish sauce (such as nam pla or nuoc nam)
1 tsp. sugar
2 stalks fresh lemongrass, tough outer layers removed
Chili oil, cilantro leaves with tender stems, and lime wedges (for serving)
I served mine with fresh chopped green onions

DEW DEEZ TINGS

Using the back of a knife, lightly smash lemongrass and ginger; cut lemongrass into 4” pieces. Bring lemongrass, ginger, lime leaves, and broth to a boil in a large saucepan. Reduce heat and simmer until flavors are melded, 8–10 minutes. Strain broth into clean saucepan; discard solids.

Add chicken and return to a boil. Reduce heat, add mushrooms, and simmer, skimming occasionally, until chicken is cooked through and mushrooms are soft, 20–25 minutes. Mix in coconut milk, fish sauce, and sugar.

Divide soup among bowls. Serve with chili oil, cilantro, and lime wedges.

Check out the original recipe here, and ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

