Oven Roasted Chick Peas

YUM

YUM

At the grocery store, I always buy foods that I think are healthy, even if I do not necessarily know how to cook them or if I even really like them. Chickpeas/garbanzo beans are one of those things. I have also already proclaimed my love for Buzzfeed. I may or may not check Buzzfeed multiple times a day… I swear I don’t have a problem! Uhh. well, I also love lists. A lot. I recently came across this Buzzfeed list, 11 Foods That May Be The Fountain of Youth. #6 on that list was curry powder, “6. Curry powder may prevent the growth of toxic brain cells and prevent Alzheimer’s.” The associated recipe with that number was for roasted chickpeas. And, since I happened to have several cans of chickpeas sitting in my pantry, I decided to give it a try. Find the recipe below with my alterations in BOLD! I am definitely going to try this recipe again with different spices, they turned out delicious!


 

Roasted Curried Chickpeas with Rosemary and Thyme

USE THESE THINGS:

2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, rinsed, drained and dried well
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon freshly-grated lemon zest
1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped

DO THIS

Preheat the oven to 425°F.

Pour well-dried chickpeas onto a rimmed baking sheet and roast for 10 minutes. I put a light coat of olive oil on the pan to prevent the chickpeas from sticking. Remove pan from oven and use a spatula to loosen up any chickpeas that are sticking to the bottom of the pan. Roast for another 10 minutes, or until chickpeas begin to crisp up. To test for readiness: don’t rely on a change of color. When the chickpeas turn brown they’ve become burned. Instead, check with the press of a finger: you want them to be slightly crisp on the outside but still soft on the inside.

While the chickpeas are roasting, combine the olive oil, paprika, cumin, curry powder, salt, lemon zest, rosemary and thyme in a medium mixing bowl. Transfer the roasted chickpeas to the bowl and carefully toss them in the mixture until well coated. Return to the baking sheet and roast another 4-5 minutes. Once out of the oven, allow them to cool for 2-3 minutes; serve warm.

Oven Roasted Chickpeas

Oven Roasted Chickpeas

One comment

Leave a Reply

