Cinnamon Coconut Granola

Cinnamon Coconut Granola

Cinnamon Coconut Granola

A while ago mini-me (my sister) sent me a recipe for Crunchy Quinoa Granola which looks amazing. So, I wanted to try it this morning BUT there was one serious problem. I didn’t feel like rinsing my quinoa… because it is so much work, I know. I am just lazy on Sunday mornings, okay? Give me a break! So I decided to make the recipe without the quinoa, and without raisins, and without flax seeds because I had none… but with the addition of shredded coconut and extra cinnamon, it turned out AMAZING. Bake on, BITCHES!


CRUNCHY QUINOA-LESS GRANOLA

USE THESE THINGS

2 cups old fashioned oats (I used about 3 cups to make up for my lack of quinoa)
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed (I didn’t add this)
1/2 cup sliced almonds (I just had whole almonds so I chopped them up)
2 tablespoons flax seeds (I had none 😦 are you catching a pattern here?)
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (I LOVE cinnamon so I added about a 
dash of salt
1/4 cup honey
2 Tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 cup raisins (I didn’t add raisins because I don’t particularly like them)

ADDED:
1/2 cup of shredded coconut, because who doesn’t love the taste of toasted coconut??
1/4 cup of sunflower seeds, just because I had some in my cupboard

 

DO THESE THINGS

Preheat oven to 325 degrees then line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper.
Combine all ingredients except raisins in a large bowl then stir to combine. Spread mixture on prepared baking sheet then bake for 15 minutes, stirring halfway through, or until golden brown. TIP: watch closely at the end to make sure granola does not get too dark. Granola will not be crunchy right out of the oven. Stir in raisins when granola is cool then store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

