Bacon Mac and Cheese (I cheated, shhhh, don’t tell)

bacon macaroni and cheese

BACON MAC

So, for this recipe I am going to admit right off the bat that I cheated. AND didn’t really measure anything. But, I don’t feel bad because measuring bacon and cheese is stupid anyway. Right? The more the merrier. Here’s my cheat, I started with a box of Annie’s Shells with White Cheddar mac and cheese. I was looking to make a quick savory dinner and bacon and cheese sounded pretty savory.


annie'sHere’s what I did. I first cooked the bacon in the microwave like the lazy soul that I am. Just some paper towels layered with the bacon. I cooked it until it was crispy, then soaked up some more of the grease with fresh paper towels. Once it was cool enough to handle, I chopped it up.

Then, while I was cooking the noodles according to the directions on the box, I prepared a quick rue. I melted about a tablespoon of butter in a pan on medium heat with a tablespoon of regular flour. As soon as the rue got slightly browned, I added about 1/2 cup of milk, the white cheddar powder from the box, and 1/2 cup of shredded cheese.

When the noodles were done, I drained them and put them back in the pot I cooked them in, poured over that delicious melty cheese and added my chopped bacon. Then ate it. I ate it all. THAT’S IT. Bacon, bitches!

 

Leave a Reply

