Sweet Baby Ray’s Crock Pot Pulled Pork

Sweet, Sweet Baby Ray's!

Sweet, Sweet Baby Ray’s!

There used to be a fantastic BBQ and homemade frozen custard place just down the street from my house. They had killer beef brisket, delicious pulled pork, and delectable chocolate and peanut butter frozen custard swirled together to perfection. About 6 months ago the joint closed after being open for 25 years or something, and I am pretty sure I had to take off work because I couldn’t stop crying. So, the point of my story is that I was craving some of that BBQ pulled pork. 

And, the only way to make BBQ pork is with a crock pot and some Sweet Baby Ray’s. Crock pot recipes are awesome, and I didn’t look up a recipe or anything, I just threw some bone-in pork shoulder in the crock pot in the morning and set it on low. Okay, I lied. I texted my mom to see if she does anything special with her pulled pork. Somehow every time I recreate one of my mom’s recipes is doesn’t taste quite as good. Don’t get me wrong, this pulled pork turned out incredible, but moms just have a special touch I guess. Anyway, my mother just said chop up some onions, throw them in the crock pot with some pork, dress with Sweet Baby Ray’s, and you’re golden. If you’ve never made pulled pork before, DO IT TODAY. It is so simple. BBQ on, bitches!


 

SWEET BABY RAY’S CROCK POT PULLED PORK

Ingredients

Your choice size bone-in pork shoulder (I made about 2 pounds, my measurements below are based upon that amount.)
1/2 cup chicken stock
1 small cooking onion, finely diced (Feel free to add more if you are making more pork than I did, or if you really like onions. You can’t go wrong here!)
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 cup Sweet, Sweet Baby Ray’s (1/2 cup goes in the crock pot, 1/2 cup gets added at the end)

Then, do this!

Put all those things in yer crock pot, and wait patiently. Either the high or low setting will work fine, depending on how much time you have on your hands. I picked low to make sure my pork was falling off the bone when it was done. And, it was. After the suggested hours on your crock pot based upon the setting you chose. I think my crock pot suggests 4 hours on high and 6 – 8 hours on low. I gave her the full 8 hours.

When your pork is tender enough that it is beginning to fall of the bone, pull it out of the pot and shred the pork using 2 forks to pull it apart. Mix your pork with another 1/2 cup of Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce or to your preferred sauce level.

Then, consume! I just like to eat mine with some cucumber salad or coleslaw. But this BBQ pork makes a fantastic sandwich or tasty tacos.

Leave a Reply

