Lemon Chia Seed Protein Cookies

Lemon Chia Seed Protein Cookies!

Lemon Chia Seed Protein Cookies!

I have recently turned to Instagram for fitness motivation, workout ideas, and new healthy recipes. Low and behold, I came across this recipe, and since I had a few lemons in my fridge and a huge bag of chia seeds, I decided to give it a try. I ALWAYS keep chia seeds around. They are fantastic added to applesauce, in granola, and made into pudding! Like this Pumpkin Chia Pudding, and this Coconut Banana Chia Pudding. These cookies turned out AMAZING!

The recipe is originally from Amy’s Healthy Baking. I was kinda of unfamiliar with one of the ingredients, xanthan gum. So I did some research and reading. Basically, the small amount is included to aid in the chewy texture of the cookies. I found it in the baking aisle of my local grocery store near the yeast. Definitely go out of your way to get this ingredient! Bake on, BITCHES!


LEMON CHIA SEED COOKIES

USE THESE THINGS:
1/4 cup coconut flour
2 scoops of vanilla protein powder (I used muscle milk organic vanilla)
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1 & 1/2 tablespoons of coconut oil or butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup agave
2 tablespoons Swerve
2 tablespoons Truvia
(So, regarding the sweeteners… I didn’t have Swerve or Truvia. However, I did find crystallized honey at my grocery store. So, I used the agave and about 2 tablespoons of the honey. I didn’t want mine too sweet anyway. Feel free to play around with the sweeteners to suit your taste!)

DO THIS:

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the coconut flour, protein powder, baking powder, xanthan gum, salt, chia seeds, and zest. In a separate bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, egg, and vanilla. Stir in the lemon juice and agave. Mix in the Swerve and Truvia until completely dissolved. Stir in the coconut flour mixture until completely incorporated. Let the cookie dough rest for at least 10 minutes.
  2. While the cookie dough rests, preheat the oven to 325°F, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.
  3. Drop the cookie dough into 12 rounded scoops onto the prepared baking sheet, and flatten to the desired thickness and width. (Between ¼” to ½” is best.) Bake at 325°F for 11-13 minutes. Cool the cookies on the baking sheet for at least 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack.
  4. ENJOY!

Check out the original recipe, here!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

